Vettel becomes youngest Formula One champion

Under the Yas Marina Circuit in Abu-Dhabi’s floodlights, German driver Sebastian Vettel added a new Formula One record to his list as youngest winner of the championship at 23 years. On Saturday, Vettel took the title at the final race of this year’s competition.

Starting from pole position, the Red Bull Racing driver led the race right through except during pit stops, when reigning world champion Jenson Button led for a few laps.

Sebastian Vettel is the youngest Formula-1 world champion at the age of 23 years

Championship leader Fernando Alonso started the race 11 points ahead of Mark Webber. With 25 points for a win, 18 for second and 15 for third, the Spaniard only needed to finish second to secure his third world championship. With a 15-point lag behind Alonso, Sebastian Vettel was third in the championship standings; winning the championship depended on neither Alonso nor Webber finishing on the podium.

A major accident between Michael Schumacher and Vintantonio Liuzzi on the first lap of the race triggered deployment of the safety car. Alonso and Webber were among drivers who decided to make earlier than planned pit stops while racing was resricted. However, they rejoined the track behind the Renault of Vitaly Petrov, who proved extremely difficult to overtake. Both remained stuck behind Petrov for the remainder of the race, finishing 7th and 8th respectively to score 6 and 4 points.

Sebastian Vettel went on to win the race ahead of the two McLarens of Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button, scoring 25 championship points to give a total of 256 – only 4 ahead of Alonso.

Vettel had never previously led this year’s contest. He had to wait until championship favorites Alonso and Webber crossed the finish line in 7th and 8th positions respectively before receiving the news by team radio. With his voice breaking among tears and laughter, Vettel thanked his team for their efforts throughout the season. He won five races from ten pole positions.

Since the start of his F1 career, Vettel’s name has repeatedly entered record books.

In 2007, he replaced an injured Robert Kubica in the United States Grand Prix. Finishing 8th and collecting one championship point; this his first record was youngest driver to score a point in F1.

In 2008, Vettel had the opportunity to race for a full season with Toro Rosso, winning what remains that team’s only race victory. At the Italian Grand Prix, he became the youngest driver to qualify in pole position and youngest race winner.

In 2009, he moved to Red Bull Racing, scoring that team’s first pole position and first race victory. He went on to finish second in the world championship.


Fernando Alonso wins 2010 Singapore Grand Prix

Ferrari driver Fernando Alonso won the FIA 2010 Singapore Grand Prix from pole position owned a day before. This became his second win in Singapore since 2008 and fourth win of the season.

Alonso was closely chased by Sebastian Vettel up to the finish line – both Red Bull’s were not able to catch Ferrari this weekend.

Fernando Alonso (2010) Image: Morio.

Lewis Hamilton’s McLaren car broke suspension after hitting Vettel’s teammate Mark Webber, racing him for third place. Another McLaren driver Jenson Button rushed to chase Webber after Hamilton found himself out of the race.

Nico Rosberg once again beat his Mercedes team mate, as the seven-time world champion Michael Schumacher finished only on 13th place. Rosberg ended up 5th.

Williams-Cosworth drivers Rubens Barrichello and Nico Hülkenberg clinched Robert Kubica 7th place for Renault.

Marina Bay Street Circuit

Pole Kubica was forced to visit Renault pits from sixth place with a tyre puncture but easily regained all but one lost positions on a set of his new tyres.

Alonso teammate Felipe Massa started from the rear of the starting grid after setting no time in the first qualifying session stopping on the circuit. Massa then done well in the race to come 9th.

Adrian Sutil owned one point for Force India finishing on the 10th place.

Mark Webber now heads the Drivers’ championship with 202 points, 11 points ahead of Fernando Alonso. Constructors’ сhampionship standings is lead by Red Bull with 383, 24 points ahead of McLaren and 67 ahead of Ferrari. Vettel’s words to his team crew about the current win by Ferrari after he saw the chequered flag were “We will get there, don’t you worry”.

%d bloggers like this: